Skip to content


Country Name:
conventional long form: People’s Republic of China
conventional short form: China
local long form: Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo 中华人民共和国
local short form: Zhongguo中国
abbreviation: PRC

Government Type:
Communist state

name: Beijing 北京
geographic coordinates: 39 55 N, 116 23 E
time difference: UTC+8 (13 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
note: All of China falls within one time zone

Administrative Divisions:
Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, Zhejiang; and Taiwan
5 Autonomous Regions
Guangxi, Nei Mongol, Ningxia, Xinjiang Uygur, and Xizang (Tibet)
4 Municipalities
Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, and Tianjin
2 Special Administrative Regions
Hong Kong and Macau

National Holiday:
Anniversary of the founding of the People’s Republic of China, 1 October (1949)

Executive branch:
Chief of
State: President HU Jintao (since 15 March 2003)
Vice President XI Jinping (since 15 March 2008)
Head of Government: Premier WEN Jiabao (since 16 March 2003)
Executive Vice Premier LI Keqiang (17 March 2008)
Vice Premier HUI Liangyu (since 17 March 2003)
Vice Premier ZHANG Dejiang (since 17 March 2008)
Vice Premier WANG Qishan (since 17 March 2008)
Cabinet: State Council appointed by National People’s Congress
Elections: president and vice president elected by National People’s Congress for a five-year term (eligible for a second term); elections last held on 15-17 March 2008 (next to be held in mid-March 2013); premier nominated by president, confirmed by National People’s Congress
Election Results: HU Jintao elected president by National People’s Congress with a total of 2,963 votes; XI Jinping elected vice president with a total of 2,919 votes

Legislative Branch:
National People’s Congress or 全国人民代表大会(2,987 seats; members elected by municipal, regional, and provincial people’s congresses, and People’s Liberation Army to serve five-year terms)
Elections: last held in December 2007-February 2008 (date of next election to be held in late 2012 to early 2013)

Judicial Branch:
Supreme People’s Court (judges appointed by the National People’s Congress)
Local People’s Courts (comprise higher, intermediate, and basic courts)
Special People’s Courts (primarily military, maritime, railway transportation, and forestry courts)

International Organization Participation:
ADB, AfDB (nonregional member) APEC, ARF, ASEAN (dialogue partner) BIS, CDB, CICA, EAS, FAO, FATF, G-20, G-24 (observer) G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer) IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, LAIA (observer) MIGA, MINURSO, MONUSCO, NAM (observer) NSG, OAS (observer), OPCW, PCA, PIF (partner) SAARC (observer) SCO, SICA (observer) UN, UN Security Council, UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNITAR, UNMIL, UNMIS, UNMIT, UNOCI, UNTSO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, ZC

Diplomatic Representation in the US:
Chief of Mission: Ambassador ZHANG Yesui
Embassy: 3505 International Place NW, Washington, DC 20008
Telephone: [1] (202) 495-2266
FAX: [1] (202) 495-2190
Consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco

Diplomatic Representation From the US:
Chief of Mission: Ambassador Jon M. HUNTSMAN, Jr.
Embassy: 55 An Jia Lou Lu, 100600 Beijing
Mailing address: PSC 461, Box 50, FPO AP 96521-0002
Telephone: [86] (10) 8531-3000
FAX: [86] (10) 8531-3300
Consulate(s) general: Chengdu, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenyang, Wuhan

Flag of the People’s Republic of China:





National Anthem:
name: “Yiyonggjun Jinxingqu” (The March of the Volunteers)
lyrics/music: TIAN Han/NIE Er
adopted 1949; the anthem is more commonly known as “Zhongguo Guoge” (Chinese National Song)

%d bloggers like this: